I have decided that instead of thinking of an inevitable task list of things I may or may not get around to doing this year, I will instead try to discover and dispell my fears with the Lord’s help. It seems to me, that if I am to accomplish any task successfully I must first recognize what hinders me from completing them. Yes, this is because I find myself with a list of perpetual tasks that revolve year after year.

  • Lose weight
  • Be more organized
  • Clean the cellar
  • Be on time
  • Earn money
  • Get published

Have you heard that there are 365 “fear nots” in the Bible? I have read that Billy Graham counted these and it is taught in seminary, though I should confirm it myself.  This be true, that should be sufficient for one “fear not” for each day of the year.  Nevertheless, I do know that there are many, many verses that also deal with anxiety, worry, etc. so there are surely enough to last not only a year, but a lifetime!  With such a treasuretrove of encouragement it is hard to imagine how one could fear at all. I would like to put some of these before me daily and proclaim them outloud. I must embrace God’s promises and believe them! Last year I prayed that my faith would increase and it did in startling ways. This year, however, I pray that my fears would diminsh for there is far too much of me in my fears. If I am to fulfill the Lord’s purpose for me “He must increase, but I must decrease” (Jn. 3:30).

Do Not Fear

The Bible on Fear

Devotional on Fear

FEAR:
F–FALSE
E–EVIDENCE
A–APPEARING
R–REAL

2 Timothy 1:7
For God did not give us the spirit of timidity (fear) but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline”

