clock

“To every thing there is a season,

and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

time to be born, and a time to die;

a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

A time to kill, and a time to heal;

a time to break down, and a time to build up;

A time to weep, and a time to laugh;

time to mourn, and a time to dance;”

Ecclesiastes 3:1-4

I’ve never been much on New Year’s resolutions. But there is something about crossing into a new “time” that causes one to want to refocus and reevaluate the times and purposes of one’s life. At least this one. It is time then, I suppose, to take stock and make some plans for the upcoming year. The only thing is, I find myself doing this up until the end of the old one. So what is the difference really?

Each day is a gift. So I’m looking forward to a fresh new year’s worth of 365 of them. In fact, a common year of 365 days equates to 8,760 hours or 525,600 minutes or 31,536,000 seconds. That gives me a lot of time to spend reaching my goals. Will I bring any of my former goals into this new year? Surely. Make new ones? Absolutely. Fall short? Considerably. Achieve? Positively!

You see, life is a journey, and I must remember not to get too uptight about deadlines such as December thirtyfirsts. If I do, then I should come to the end of each year feeling as though I have some how failed, when in fact so much progress had been made. Living life each day is a conquest in itself and one should find a certain sense of satisfaction in them if our expectations are not exceedingly unrealistic. In the words of Emily Dickenson, “To live is so startling it leaves little time for anything else.”   So I shall live this year, as if each day is a gift, take great pleasure in it, and try to make the most of the time that I have. Should I reach my goals in the process, I will be most delighted!

 

 

 

