I took a few online personality tests and they say I’m an Idealist. Ya think?

This info came from ptypes.com. Though I did not know it at first, it’s a Christian site. I had some light bulb moments while exploring which I will share in a minute.

My score stated that my temperament type is Idealist. See the chart below. To learn more about this personality type go here.

 

Temperament Score
Idealist 13
Rationalist 4
Traditionalist 9
Hedonist 4

They describe the Idealist temperment as melancholic. Seems to suit me. I’m a melancholy baby.

They also say that:

“Idealists pride themselves on being loving,
kindhearted, and authentic.”

OK, that’s nice. I hope so.

I hit 18 out of 24 areas of interest in the Idealist category. Although Traditionalist came in at a fairly close second, I only had 12 out of 29 areas of interest there. Some of these (collectively) include: Theology, Writing, Issues & Causes, Religion & Spirituality, Personal Growth, Arts & Crafts, History, Home & Garden, Society & Culture, etc.

It was nice to know that my temperment is akin to C. S. Lewis, but disturbing to learn that Hillary Rodham Clinton also shares this temperment.

While all of this is fascinating, I was confronted with an interesting concept on this site. “The idealized self is an idol of the imagination. The idealized self is an image of what we should be, must be or ought to be, in order to be acceptable.”

I’m exposing myself here . . . (*blushing*). Deep breath. Do you want to know more?

Reading about the Idealist personality their article discussed The Idealized Self and Grace. This was rather enlightening. Sin, Pride, and Self-Acceptance by Terry D. Cooper (Intervarsity Press) discusses how the idealized self can interfere with the acceptance of Grace. I hate to admit it, but truth be told, I am my own worst critic. Paradoxically, that makes me a little self-centered. I know I am hard on myself and sometimes have a hard time accepting God’s grace, although I am very happy to have Him lavish it on others.

Even if I have a tendency to withhold grace from myself, God’s spirit within me is constantly reminding me that He is bigger than my greatest failing. Oftentimes my failings are perceived, expectations of self. It is important for me to remember that He makes all things beautiful in His time! Even me.

It is not unattainable to find one’s self acceptable before the Lord and in one’s own eyes, even for an idealist. For me it requires the constant discipline of taking my insecurities and placing them in light of God’s truth and his love. My focus must be on the realization of how God sees me through His son Christ Jesus, rather than how I see myself, or even how others see me.  I am becoming.  He is Grace.

1 John 3:19,20- “This then is how we know that we belong to the truth, and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence whenever our hearts condemn us. For God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything.”

Learn more about The Idealized Self and Grace.

You can take your own Temperment Test and discover interesting things about your personality.

The ptypes website also gives you a list of blogs by people with similar temperments. I took another test over at Bloginality, they do the same thing but it’s not as complex. My FireFox web browser didn’t work on this site so I had to default to Internet Explorer.

My Bloginality is INFP.

What does this mean?

According to Bloginality, as an INFP, I am intraverted, intuative, feeling , and perceiving. It also defines my personality as an Idealist.

The site says, “As a weblogger, you have wonderful words to express your feelings because of your idealism. Because you don’t like conflict, you may be likely to make one list of links and leave it for a long time without updating for fear of offending.” Though the former may have some truth to it, the later has little. I do not hesitate to place controversial links on my blogs or websites, if anything, I place them there to challenge you. Why? Because truth resides there. And I’m a truthseeker, idealistically anyway.

I’m listing this as another Web Quest because I just know you won’t be able to resist exploring your own personality at these fun and interesting sites. Have fun! Let me know what you learn.

