We spent another weekend at my parent’s home, less than and hour and a half from ours. Brad had to work in the area so we stayed through Mon. both last weekened (the snow sculpture weekend) and this. On Sunday, we saw two movies , both with historical and controversial themes. I’d like to respond inkind with the words of two relevant hymns.

After we attended church, my home-away-from-home church for some 20 years, we had an afternoon of it in Portland. We helped celebrate my mom and step-dad’s 30th wedding anniversary with dinner at the Olive Garden then with stomach’s full rolled ourselves into the Nickelodeon Theater in downtown Portland to see Amazing Grace. The movie was wonderful, the story remarkable and inspiring. The story was about the long-suffering William Wilberforce who helped abolish slavery in Britian in the early 19th century and his mentor, John Newton, former slave ship captain and author of the famous hymn (among many others), Amazing Grace.

Amazing Grace

Amazing grace! (How sweet the sound)
That sav’d a wretch like me!
I once was lost, but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

’Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
And grace my fears reliev’d;
How precious did that grace appear,
The hour I first believ’d!

Thro’ many dangers, toils and snares,
I have already come;
’Tis grace has brought me safe thus far,
And grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promis’d good to me,
His word my hope secures;
He will my shield and portion be,
As long as life endures.

Yes, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
And mortal life shall cease;
I shall possess, within the veil,
A life of joy and peace.

The earth shall soon dissolve like snow,
The sun forbear to shine;
But God, who call’d me here below,
Will be forever mine.

I have a link on my Media Meaderings blog about it where you can find out more. I highly recommend this film!

~ * ~

To top the day off, we were home in time for the viewing of “The Lost Tomb of Jesus”, the documentary by journalist/film maker Simcha Jacobovici and producer/director James Cameron which set forth the proposterous idea that they had discovered Jesus Christ’s family tomb, including his bones as well as presumed evidence of a wife and child of Jesus. This movie/documentary was followed by an interesting debate with Ted Koppel as the mediator which asserted some poignent questions concluding that as much “evidence” that was set forth, the direction of the film was misleading and manipulative in it’s attempt to put forth a predetermined conclusion. Rather that providing a true scientific result, it primarily was a speculative and controversial piece of sensationalism and succeeded as such leaving many unanswered questions and incomplete data.

I Serve a Risen Savior

I serve a risen Saviour;
He is the world today,
I know that he is living,
whatever men may say,
I see His hand of mercy;
I hear His voice of cheer;
And just the time I need Him,
He’s always near.

He lives, He lives,
Christ Jesus lives today!
He walks with me and talks with me
along life’s narrow way.
He lives, He lives,
salvation to impart!
You ask me how I know He lives?
He lives within my heart.

I have also written about The Lost Tomb of Jesus controversy in my dappled things blog and hope that you take the time to learn more – the truth.

Original article – Bones of Contention

Follow up article- No Bones About It

 

