coffee-cup.gif

Today started out like any other day, or so I thought. Upon waking, I came down stairs booted up my computer and proceeded to the kitchen to make my morning pot of coffee. Next to turning on the computer, this is the second critical event in my morning routine. While the pot is brewing I return to the computer and read my email as I listen to the gurgling sounds of the coffee pot nearby, impatiently waiting for a sip of that first fresh-brewed cup. The anticipation builds as I try to clear my head filled with morning fuzzies and stay alert, longing for my first cup. At last, it’s time. Now I can fully start my day. I will plod back to the kitchen, breath in that delightful aroma and pour my first cup. When I return to my computer with cup in hand I am truly ready to settle in and venture on, online. I read my morning scripture and devotional, check the local and world news, tend household business, visit and write my blogs. Soon I will be ready to switch users, and get to work, also on my computer. But none of it can be done without a faithful cup of coffee on my desk. It is required.

It’s time. With special cup in hand, I begin to pour. But wait! I have just brewed an entire pot of hot water! The aluminum pot concealed this fact until the actual pouring began. How could this be? So much for routine, I forgot a very important step. I didn’t put the ground coffee in the filter. Now I am going to have to start all over again! Arrrgh! Another ADD moment. I dump out the hot water into the sink and fill the pot up once again with cold water, but not before I berate myself for my stupidity. Let it go. “Your not stupid, you just forgot. A mistake is all,” I tell myself. It’s too early in the morning to deal with my shortcomings. I tend to be excessively hard on myself. This is not a good attitude to start the day on, nor is it an “omen” of how the rest of the day shall go. Am I being overly analytical? “It’s only a pot of coffee,” you say. One of my mottos is “You can start your day over any time.” But so soon? I musn’t dwell on my accidental and insignificant blunder, just try to heed my own advice, do my best to correct the situation, and start over.

Moments like these are little reminders to me of how some of the disciplines of the Christian life, my Christian life, can get taken for granted. Like the renewing of the mind. I have been transformed, yes, and my mind has been retrained in process of thought through forming new habits and believing truths. Yet, sometimes I forget. How easy it is to get off track in partaking of the disciplines of grace in my life. Like drinking hot water without the coffee. I don’t want to do that.  Paradoxically, I get out of habit of practicing my renewed thought process, because I think I have the routine down. Then I prepare a pot of coffee without the grounds, humbly reminding me of my frailty.  Becoming Holy, like Christ, is a process, and  I must be attentive to practicing His holiness daily, relentlessly. Even in the little things.  So, for example, when my first inclination is to assault myself, a thought pattern that I have tried to transform, I need to take “every thought captive” and remember who I am in Christ. The enemy seeks to destroy and through Christ I have the authority to cast away his insinuations. I must also realize that even practicing the discipline of applying God’s grace to myself will help me to share it also with others. I want what I give to be a full-bodied, flavorful aroma, and full of substance.

Next time (no doubt there will be), I shall make tea instead and pour myself a cup of grace. Would you care for a cup?

