draped-cross.jpg

I remember from the time I was a little girl, come Easter Sunday how excited I would get to go to church, especially on this day! There was something even then that thrilled my heart to hear the minister proclaim that Christ had risen. The hymns that were belted out in celebration, I likened to the Christmas songs that we sang in that season, but now that Easter was here it all came together. It was a celebration of life . . . the life that came to us at Christmas, was scorned on the cross, and given back to us in Christ’s resurrection! And not only for Him, but through Him we also could obtain life everlasting! What an amazing miracle! What manner of love!

I can hear the voices from my childhood congregation now. The baritones, sopranos, tenors, and altos. Some much louder than they ought, some off key considerably, some occasionally out of sync with the music, but ever passionate. We used to make fun of them then I ashamedly admit. I wondered how these voices sounded by the time they reached the ears of our loving God. No doubt he received this worship with great pleasure and joy! Yet even through the giggles I was affected by the powerful proclamation as the congregation sang heartily as one body. Resurrection Sunday after Resurrection Sunday, I would look forward to and be awed by the words and sweet tune of The Old Rugged Cross whose message sounded almost like scripture itself, and excitement would stir in my heart with the magnifying voices of “Up from the grave He arose” as the hymn increased in momentum. As though singing an ancient and awkward language to Crown Him with Many Crowns, the gospel message still shone forth and filled me with desire to lay my own crown at his feet someday. With resounding joy we would sing “He lives, He lives … He walks with me and talks with me along life’s narrow way..” filling me with assurance that he did indeed walk with me and how would I know you ask how he lives? “He lives within my heart.”

 

Oh, how I look forward to living in Christ’s eternal kingdom and singing praises to him there forever!

 

 

Up From the Grave He Arose

Low in the grave He lay, Jesus my Savior,
Waiting the coming day, Jesus my Lord!

Up from the grave He arose,
With a mighty triumph o’er His foes,
He arose a Victor from the dark domain,
And He lives forever, with His saints to reign.
He arose! He arose!
Hallelujah! Christ arose!

Vainly they watch His bed, Jesus my Savior;
Vainly they seal the dead, Jesus my Lord!

Up from the grave He arose,
With a mighty triumph o’er His foes,
He arose a Victor from the dark domain,
And He lives forever, with His saints to reign.
He arose! He arose!
Hallelujah! Christ arose!

Death cannot keep its Prey, Jesus my Savior;
He tore the bars away, Jesus my Lord!

Up from the grave He arose,
With a mighty triumph o’er His foes,
He arose a Victor from the dark domain,
And He lives forever, with His saints to reign.
He arose! He arose!
Hallelujah! Christ arose!


The Old Rugged Cross

On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross,
The emblem of suffering and shame;
And I love that old cross where the dearest and best
For a world of lost sinners was slain.

So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,
Till my trophies at last I lay down;
I will cling to the old rugged cross,
And exchange it some day for a crown.

O that old rugged cross, so despised by the world,
Has a wondrous attraction for me;
For the dear Lamb of God left His glory above
To bear it to dark Calvary.

So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,
Till my trophies at last I lay down;
I will cling to the old rugged cross,
And exchange it some day for a crown.

In that old rugged cross, stained with blood so divine,
A wondrous beauty I see,
For ’twas on that old cross Jesus suffered and died,
To pardon and sanctify me.

So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,
Till my trophies at last I lay down;
I will cling to the old rugged cross,
And exchange it some day for a crown.

To the old rugged cross I will ever be true;
Its shame and reproach gladly bear;
Then He’ll call me some day to my home far away,
Where His glory forever I’ll share.

So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,
Till my trophies at last I lay down;
I will cling to the old rugged cross,
And exchange it some day for a crown.

Crown Him with Many Crowns

Crown Him with many crowns,
The Lamb upon His throne:
Hark! how the heav’nly anthem drowns
All music but its own!
Awake my soul, and sing
Of Him who died for thee,
And hail Him as thy matchless King
Thru all eternity.

Crown Him the Lord of love:
Behold His hands and side–
Rich wounds, yet visible above,
In beauty glorified.
No angel in the sky
Can fully bear that sight,
But downward bends his wond’ring eye
At mysteries so bright.

Crown Him the Lord of life:
Who triumphed o’er the grave,
Who rose victorious to the strife
For those He came to save.
His glories now we sing,
Who died and rose on high,
Who died eternal life to bring
And live that death may die.

Crown Him the Lord of heav’n:
One with the Father known,
One with the Spirit thru Him giv’n
From yonder glorious throne.
To Thee be endless praise,
For Thou for us hast died;
Be Thou, O Lord, thru endless days
Adored and magnified.

He Lives

I serve a risen Savior, He’s in the world today,
I know that He is living, whatever men may say;
I see His hand of mercy, I hear His voice of cheer.
And just the time I need Him, He’s always near.

In all the world around me, I see his loving care,
And tho my heart grows weary, I never will despair
I know that He is leading thru all the stormy blast,
The day of his appearing will come at last.

Rejoice, rejoice, O Christian, lift up your voice and sing
Eternal hallelujahs to Jesus Christ the King!
The hope of all who seek Him, the help of all who find,
None other is so loving, so good and kind.

CHORUS:
He Lives, He lives, Christ Jesus lives today!
He walks with me and talks with me along life’s narrow way
He Lives, He lives, salvation to impart!
You ask me How I know He lives?
HE LIVES WITHIN MY HEART.



 

Listen:

Low in the Grave He Lay /Up From the Grave He Arose

The Old Rugged Cross

 

Crown Him with Many Crowns

He Lives – I Serve a Risen Savior


 

