janeausten1.jpg

I think I’m going to swoon! I just learned about The Jane Austen Gala: A Living History Event that is being held all but 10 minutes away from my very own home! How could such good fortune come to me? I am blessed beyond wonder!

Our local Colby College’s very popular Jane Austen course is sponsoring a historical ball and book discussions, events which encapsulate “civic engagement”, therefore, the public is invited. Having learned of this late, I already missed the first book discussion on Persuasion, but next week I will surely attend Sense & Sensibility. Though I will have to squeeze in the reading of this into my already heavy reading schedule that I currently have. But I must do what I must. And this is of most importance.

Oh, and for the ball . . . I can hardly wait! A local library will provide the historic setting for this late afternoon event with three whole hours of regency fun! There will be live music, dancing lessons, and historically accurate refreshments. Guests are encouraged to come in period costume. The college students will be hosting this and demonstrating regency dance. This event is free so that even makes it more delightful!

“There were twenty Dances & I danced them all, & without any fatigue.- I was glad to find myself capable of dancing so much & with so much satisfaction as I did;- from my slender enjoyment of the Ashford Balls, (as Assemblies for dancing) I had not thought myself equal to it, but in cold weather & with few couples I fancy I could just as well dance for a week together as for half an hour”

~ Jane Austen to her sister 1798

 

. . . I sense a Web Quest coming on.

Article – An Evening with Jane Austen

 

UPDATE:  MAKE SURE YOU CHECK OUT ALL OF MY POSTS ABOUT THIS GRAND EVENT  (in the HISTORICAL category)!  Thanks for visiting!

 

 

