“Books are not made for furniture, but there is nothing else that so beautifully furnishes a house.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher

Well, I guess I got that one down. I have about 20 boxes full of books. Most of them packed. But where, oh where, will I put them all. My husband had built me some beautiful shelves which I will have to leave behind. I guess he’ll have to build me a book case now. Then I can redecorate my new home with my books, my beloved friends and mentors.

Part with some of them? Believe me I have. Apparently I have also acquired more of them as well. Some are for reference, some are for entertainment, but all I enjoy. Perhaps I should consider the thoughts of Henry Miller:

“A book lying idle on a shelf is wasted ammunition. Like money, books must be kept in constant circulation. Lend and borrow to the maximum — of both books and money! But especially books, for books represent infinitely more than money. A book is not only a friend, it makes friends for you. When you have possessed a book with mind and spirit, you are enriched. But when you pass it on you are enriched threefold.”

But then again, I do. Feel free to look at My Library Thing and if you see anything you’d like to borrow, just let me know. You’ll have to wait until they are unpacked to get it though!

“A house without books is like a room without windows.” ~ Heinrich Mann

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” ~  Cicero

“A house is no home unless it contain food and fire for the mind as well as for the body. ” ~ Margaret Fuller

