“And the Word became flesh, and did tabernacle among us, and we beheld his glory, glory as of an only begotten of a father, full of grace and truth.” ~John 1:14~

Tonight I am attending Sukkot, the Biblical Feast of Tabernacles (or Feast of Booths), with a group of Messianic believers. The seven day feast began on Thursday, September 27th and will last until Wednesday, October 3rd. This year is a special sabbath year observance as well as the 40th anniversary of Israel’s reunification. I have had such a strong desire to attend this feast this year and have prayed about it. I cannot describe how my heart leapt within me when a few days ago a dear friend, with whom I have a messianic affinity, invited me to attend this feast with her. So this afternoon I will prepare my food, and my heart, to celebrate the Lord in this wonderful way.

This festival is a joyful celebration. It is like Thanksgiving and Christmas all rolled into one! It is a time of thanksgiving when the Jewish people remember how their people dwelt in temporary shelters in the wilderness for 40 years after God saved them from captivity in Egypt. It is a time to remember that God came to dwell among his people through his son Jesus Christ. Many people believe that it was during this very feast that Jesus’ parents went up to Jerusalem and Jesus was born. It is a reminder that we reside in the fleshly, temporal dwellings of our earthly tabernacles, our bodies. And for believers, where the spirit of God dwells with us. Jesus Christ is Lord of the Harvest!

The Feast of Tabernacles is significant to Christians because Jesus Christ, Yeshuah Ha Masiach, celebrated this feast, as did Paul. It was during Sukkot that Jesus fulfilled prophecy and proclaimed that he was God. During the Feast of Tabernacles lamps illuminated the whole city, it was during the lighting of theses lamps when Jesus stood in the temple courts and spoke out, “I am the light of the world (John 8:12). Then on the last and greatest day of the feast, precisely at the time of the water pouring ceremony, he declared, “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to Me and drink. Whoever believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him” (John 7:37,38).

As a gentile it is not mandatory to celebrate this feast, but it is a privilege. We also know that the Biblical feasts were celebrated by the new Testament church. It is important to know that this feast will be celebrated forever by all believers in the Messiah’s eternal kingdom when we dwell together with Him forever!

“And it shall come to pass that everyone who is left of all the nations which came against Jerusalem shall go up from year to year to worship the King, the LORD of hosts, and to keep the Feast of Tabernacles.”
~Zechariah 14:16~

 

 

Torrey’s Topical Bible on Feast of Tabernacles

Hebrew for Christians- Sukkot

Hag HaSukkot

Christ’s Feasts of Tabernacles

Sukkot at Hebrew Roots

Tabernacles Websites

The Seven Feasts of Yahuwah: History and Prophecy

Christian Friends of Israel

The Jewish Feast of Tabernacles

Feast of Tabernacles – Sukkot 

 

Addendum: Today I woke up very ill and cannot make the long trip to the feast. I’m so disappointed that I cannot go to the feast! I have to celebrate in my heart and in my own private worship. But, then again, that is something that I can do every day!

 

 

