pink.jpg

Make sure you get your Mammograms ladies! I have lost 3 friends (Judy, Marty, Dyanne) and my Nana to breast cancer. I have friends who have lost dear ones, and family members who have had scares. I have also gained friends because I met them as breast cancer survivors, years after their experience with the disease.

Since breast cancer runs in my family it is especially important for me to have my mamos, and believe me, that is no small task. (LOL!) I am also at a higher risk because I had an intraductal papaloma 11 years ago. There was blood and fluid leaking from one of my nipples. (Oh, I can’t believe I just wrote that on a public blog!) Intraductal papaloma is a benign disease, though they do monitor it closely. In my case they removed the small tumor with the entire milk duct along with several inches of atypical (pre-cancerous) cells on my left breast. I have a badge of honor (scar) of about 2 inches, on the side of my breast, that can hardly be seen. Well, I certainly don’t show it to anyone.  I used to take my Nana to her chemo treatments.  She did show me her mastectomy once, and that I am grateful for.

After this experience, I had to begin having mamos twice a year. Oh, the fun. But necessary. I do think they they need to create an all female task force for design and technology of an more comfortable machine. I do think they have a better machine available, but lo, I live in rural Maine.

There is no excuse to not have a mammogram. Yet, each year many women do not have them, nor do they do their monthly breast exams. Why?

Fear. Expense. The expense part is easy. There are many programs out there that offer free mammograms. Call your local hospital to find out where. C’mon. We can actually save alot of expense now if we take care of this than having to pay for medical bills later if we do not.

The fear part is the biggy though. Did you know procrastination only increases and perpetuates your fear? Let’s face it ladies. Do what we have to do, because if we don’t, we or our love ones may have to face a much larger fear later if we do not. We can do! “Perfect love casts out fear.” We love them too much not to.

FIND OUT MORE ABOUT THE GOING PINK FOR OCTOBER BREAST CANCER AWARENESS CAMPAIGN AND GET YOUR BADGES FOR YOUR WEBSITE

National Breast Cancer Foundation

Steps to Finding Breast Lumps Early

The Hunger Site

