cherie11.jpg

On November 3rd nationally acclaimed singer, songwriter and speaker Cherie Adams will be coming to the Women’s Fall Faith Lift at Faith Evangelical Free Church of Waterville, Maine. Cherie’s passion is to share the love of Christ to the brokenhearted through her songs and speaking ministry. I thought I would share with you a recent conversation I had with Cherie.

 

 

CARLA:

Today we are having a conversation with nationally acclaimed singer and songwriter, formerly from the group Avalon, Cherie Adams.

Hello Cherie, thank you for joining us today. You will be our featured guest at the Women’s Fall Faith Lift at Faith Evangelical Free Church of Waterville, ME on Saturday, November 3rd. We are very excited about your visit to Maine.

I understand that you are originally a New Englander. As a young woman from Rhode Island, how was it that you became involved with the popular Christian music group Avalon?

CHERIE:

I was living in TN, traveling with another music group at the time. I had been here 5 years and made some friends in the music business. Tony Morra was the music director of Avalon’s band at the time when Nikki Hassman had decided to leave the group. He immediately called me and told me I should try out for Avalon. I was unsure about the opportunity since I was unfamiliar with Avalon and was not really into Contemporary Christian music. My heart was really into worship and that is primarily what I had been singing in the other group I was in. I was quite unfamiliar with Avalon’s music so I called the manager, Glenda Mcnalley, and met her for a coffee. I was totally honest with her, and told her that I wasn’t even sure about the position but Tony had insisted that I call and meet with her. She asked me for a demo and I gave her the only thing I had, it was actually a country demo that I had just sung for a country writer friend of mine. She immediately sent me over to the label and within 3 days, they told me the position was mine if I wanted it. All that to say, it was definitely a God thing.

CARLA:

With an American Music Award, a Dove Award, 2 Grammy nominations and multiple number one hits, your years with Avalon were extraordinary. Cherie, what was it that prompted you to go out on your own?

CHERIE:

In 2002, there were several events that led me to the decision to leave the group. First of all, I had just gotten married in 2001 and my priorities began to immediately change. I believe I’m a wife first and then a minister/artist. As soon as I got home from my honeymoon, I was gone for 27 days straight and was unable to see my husband the first month of our marriage. We were traveling 200 days a year back then and I knew something was going to have to change. Secondly, Sept. 11 happened and I began to feel like life was way too short to not pursue the calling that God had placed on my life. I knew He had given me a powerful testimony to share with people and 2 minutes before the Glory was not going to really get that testimony across. Avalon was more about Christian entertainment with some ministry and I was craving more opportunities to really minister to people. We need Christian entertainment, and there is nothing wrong with it, I had just been in it for 5 years and felt like it was time to move on to the next phase of my career and ministry. And lastly, our dear friend and songwriter of most Avalon songs, Grant Cunningham died from a soccer accident and Tammy Trent’s husband died from a diving accident. they were both so young and it really prompted me to examine my life and what I wanted to do with it. I wanted to sing personal songs that I had written that were birthed out of a really hard time in my life and I wanted to share the stories behind those songs. So. that’s what I’m doing now and it is creatively and spiritually more fulfilling. I knew that God was calling me out onto the “Water” with him and it took me a whole year to finally surrender and say, “ok Lord, I’ll walk on the water with you, just please don’t let me drown”.

CARLA:

Your first solo CD is called “The Sweet Life”. What a great title. How is that theme a reflection of what that project means to you?

CHERIE:

I co-wrote 8 of the 11 songs on this CD and every song is a glimpse of my personal testimony of how God made Himself very tangible to me at a time in my life when I thought my life was going to end. I went through a terrible emotional trauma ( in which I will share in greater detail the day of the women’s event) that left me very numb and cold inside and Jesus made himself tangible, audible, physical, emotional, etc., to me and I have never been the same. You can look to your career, your spouse, your children, money and fame for happiness, but those things are only temporary and none of those things can give you The Sweetest Life the way that Jesus can.

CARLA:

You’ve experienced some dark moments in your life. It seems so many women today struggle with depression and anxiety. I’m probably opening Pandora’s Box here, but is there some word of hope you can share right now with someone who may not be able to see beyond their current difficulty.

CHERIE:

I would really like to encourage any woman out there to please come to the women’s event we’re having because I’m going to share in great detail how God himself reached down into the core of my being and literally changed my every thought and my entire life in just a blink of an eye. I know that if He can deliver me from suicidal thoughts, severe depression and total emotional chaos, I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that He can deliver you as well. I am no more special to God than you are, He doesn’t have any favorites and it doesn’t matter what you’ve done or where you’ve been. God can and will repair it all.

CARLA:

Do you have any mentors, musical or spiritual, that have influenced your career as well as your walk with Christ?

CHERIE:

My musical mentors are Ce-Ce Winans (who is just as she is off stage as she is on stage, she’s the real deal), my high school chorus teacher, Bob Mainelli who always believed in me and actually dragged me out of study hall and forced me to be in the choir at school. He also gave me my first gig, “the wedding Singer” and he made me learn jazz standards which forced me to become a versatile singer. As far as vocal influences, I grew up listening to Whitney Houston, Mariah Carey, and Patsy Cline and then began studying jazz singers in college like Billy Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald and Sarah Vaughn.

CARLA:

Cherie, we hear that you and your husband, Kevin, are expecting your first child around the beginning of the year. Congratulations! By now you have probably heard that “all Mom’s are working Moms”. What type of changes do you anticipate in your career once you are a parent?

CHERIE:

The only change I anticipate is that I’m going to have to tote the little one around from state to state and probably pay a lot of extra baggage fines at the airport!!!!

All that to say, I’m not planning on leaving my career. What I do is not really a career, it’s a way of life for me, it’s like eating or sleeping . . . it’s just a part of me that I can’t explain. I have to sing, write songs, travel, share my heart and my stories, make people laugh, make them cry, and make them think about having a relationship with Jesus. Some people in the past have really faulted me for this statement but I’m going to say it anyways, it’s not what I do, it’s who I am.

CARLA:

Other than preparing for motherhood, what other current projects are you working on?

CHERIE:

I’m currently writing for my next project but for some reason, I’ve been writing a ton of love songs. So if I don’t cut them, then just pray that Carrie Underwood or Kelly Clarkson pick them up!!!! 🙂

I’m also working on a Children’s book and I am forever tweaking the current book that I’ve been writing for Singles.

CARLA:

We look forward to hearing more from you, and especially getting to meet you on November 3rd at Faith Evangelical Free Church of Waterville’s Women’s Fall Faith Lift.

THANK YOU, CHERIE!!!! 🙂

CHERIE:

Thank you!! Looking forward to it!

 

Women’s Fall Faith Lift

Cherie Adams Official Website


 

