caterpillerhill.jpg

Once we crossed the bridge, we continued our excursion towards Deer Isle. We stopped at a rock shop that Brad had kept a suprize for me. He knows I’m just crazy about gems, minerals, fossils, etc. We pulled in and I took some pics there, too. It’s less expensive than buying. The large chunk of rough Maine Tourmaline was $600. My sweet husband couldn’t resist getting me a small Lapis Lazuli stone which is my very favorite gem, in fact, that is the stone in our wedding bands.

rockshop.jpg gemstones.jpg torumaline.jpg lapisrockshop.jpg

They also had fossilized Ammonites, Trilobites, Horse teeth, and a Dinosaur Egg, among other things.

ammonite.jpg jetammonites.jpg trilobite.jpg degg.jpg

Brad was excited to show me a scenic view called Caterpiller Hill. He had never had a chance to stop there enroute to work so we did on the way to Deer Isle and on the way back to capture a sunset.

ch2.jpg ch3.jpg

We crossed another rather primitive bridge to Deer Isle.  It was very quaint and rustic.  This is the home to many a lobsterman and also to artists.  The picture below shows a lobster boat moored in a cove.  As we drove by the lovely residence that he had been working on, Brad noticed the owner outside in the yard and pulled up to say hello.  The gentleman and his wife invited us and and gave us a grand tour of this historic home which my husband dedicated many months to.  His craftsmanship and hardwork were evident in the beautiful home (wish I had some pics).  On the way out we drove by the shore and got out to walk along the beach on this brisk fall day and watched the sun peak through the clouds and dance on the water.  And, yes, as I dipped my hand in the ocean it was very cold indeed.  Our hearts were warm as we headed back to the bridge, and that, not the only bridge we have crossed.

lobstaboat.jpg  oceandeerisle.jpg

